Professional Development (3260)

download

Professional practice is the final course in the PIDP program for myself before the Capstone and I hope to complete the Diploma this spring.  I began my PIDP journey in July 2015 with the desire to add teaching in Community Health to my work experience.

My five-year professional plan focuses on finding employment in an educator role, ideally in Community Health, but I am open to anything healthcare related.  I am in the process of updating my resume and can already feel the anxiety related to the interview process!

I have wanted to change my volunteer role with the Alzheimer’s Society of BC and so this spring, as I close in on the completion of this program, I will begin facilitating community workshops for families and caregivers related to Dementia and Dementia Care.

Ongoing professional development related to nursing includes attending education courses offered though Vancouver Coastal Health and CRNBC.  I receive The Canadian Nurse on a regular basis and find it keeps me in touch with nursing issues on a national level.  Depending on what employment I am able to find I would like to join the professional practice group for support and ongoing learning.

As a new educator, I would like to subscribe to the Canadian Teacher magazine, and I will continue to use the VCC SIE Facebook page as a resource tool to stay connected with current initiatives in education.  I have found TED talks incredibly entertaining and insightful and will continue tuning in to those regularly.

 

About bevstanwood

I am a student of VCC's Provincial Instructor Diploma Program. I began the program in July 2015 and am currently working on course content that requires posting my assignments, journal entries and resources on a personal blog site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

