Am I a Change Agent? (3250)

change_agents_greensboro

 “The success and failure of my students’ learning  is about what I do or don’t do.  I am the change agent.” (Hattie, 2009).

Question: Am I a change agent?  and if I think so, why?

I do see myself as a change agent and I believe it is because of the core values with which I operate are similar to characteristics we find in change agents.

First, I need a clear vision.   I need to know where I am going, why I am going there, and put a plan in place to get myself there.  Enrolling in the PIDP is a good example.  I have always known I wanted to teach in the area of health care but had been unsure in what specific area.  Now I know my interest is in community health, so I registered for the program and set a target date for completion.

I am a very patient but also very persistent.  One has to be with 4 children!!!  But my kids will also tell you I don’t give up easily!!!  I want to make sure they are all moving ‘forward’ but doing so on their schedule.  My role is to support that movement from A to B.

I try to challenge with questions that might help stimulate deeping thinking. For example, helping students determine next steps in their career path by asking: what is best for you? or, what do you see yourself doing in 5 years?  My goal is to trigger an emotional connection to the idea to help move them toward creating their own solution.

Relationships are important to me.  I strive to be approachable and reliable with my family, friends, and those that I work and learn with.

Lastly, I feel confident in my knowledge and skills and I stay engaged in ongoing learning in subjects as they relate to myself, my family and my work and I am conscientious about being a good role model for the people in my life.

The level of responsibility found in this particular Mindframe was weighing on me and asking myself to go a little deeper  was a useful process.

Maybe you should do the same???


Hattie, J. A. (2009).  Visible Learning:  A Synthesis of Over 800 Meta-Analysis Relating to Achievement. New York, NY:  Rutledge

About bevstanwood

I am a student of VCC's Provincial Instructor Diploma Program. I began the program in July 2015 and am currently working on course content that requires posting my assignments, journal entries and resources on a personal blog site.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Am I a Change Agent? (3250)

  1. Doug Setter says:

    Well, it is refreshing to hear an educator talk about their “teaching disability” and taking some responsibility for students learning. Just because we as instructors “get it,” does not mean the rest of the world understands or even cares about what we offer.

    Having said that, I have also seen reluctant students who show up for training for the wrong reasons (eg. Parents told them, their father was good at this subject, “make them a man,” school or might have to actually get a job, etc.)

    If someone puts their hard-earned cash down, we as instructors need the persistence and flexibility to instruct them or the integrity to direct them elsewhere.

    –Doug Setter, BSc.

    Like

Leave a Reply

